Premier Wen addresses East Asia Summit Wednesday, December 14, 2005

Chinese Premier Wen Jiabao smiles while attending the opening ceremony of the first East Asia Summit (EAS) in Kuala Lumpur, capital of Malaysia, Dec. 14, 2005. [Xinhua Photo] 

Chinese Premier Wen Jiabao addressed the first East Asia Summit which is being held in Kuala Lumpur, capital of Malaysia, on Wednesday.

China to stick to path of peaceful development: premier

China has succeeded in embarking upon a development path suited to its national conditions, namely, a Chinese path to socialist modernization, a path to peaceful development, and China will stick to the path, Chinese Premier Wen Jiabao said in Kuala Lumpur Wednesday.

Premier Wen outlines proposals to overcome difficulties in East Asia

Chinese Premier Wen Jiabao outlined his proposals to overcome difficulties and challenges in the region while addressing the first East Asia Summit in Kuala Lumpur on Wednesday.

East Asia cooperation should be transparent, open: Wen 

Chinese Premier Wen Jiabao Wednesday emphasized that East Asian countries should join hands in turning their cooperation into a transparent and open process so as to achieve progress for all countries and development in all regions.

Related story:

1st East Asia Summit opens in Kuala Lumpur

The inaugural East Asia Summit (EAS) opened Wednesday morning at the Kuala Lumpur Convention Center following the 11th Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Summit and other related Summits.

The first EAS, the highlight of the series of summits, was participated by leaders from ASEAN, China, Japan, South Korea, India, Australia and New Zealand, although the latter three countries are located geographically outside east Asia.


East Asia Summit

Malaysia hosts the first East Asia Summit (EAS) on Dec. 14, 2005, back-to-back with the 11th the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Summit and other related Summits.

The historic decision for ASEAN to host the EAS was taken by the ASEAN Leaders at the 10th ASEAN Summit in Vientiane last November.

The first EAS will be participated by ASEAN, Australia, China, India, Japan, Republic of Korea and New Zealand.

ASEAN, established in 1967, groups Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Brunei, Vietnam, Laos, Myanmar and Cambodia.

ASEAN believes that it should be in the driver's seat in the EAS and that the EAS will be open and outward looking.

The EAS will be a forum for dialogue on broad strategic issues of relevance to East Asia as well as other regional and global issues. Discussions will focus on regional and International issues of common interest and concern such as international terrorism, energy, infectious diseases, sustainable development, poverty reduction and others.

The Leaders are also expected to have an exchange of views on the role that the EAS can play in strengthening the regional architecture.

At the end of the EAS, the leaders will sign the Kuala Lumpur Declaration on the East Asia Summit.

Editor: Liu Dan
Source: Xinhua